Redefining “Open Relationships”

or An Essay on Mindful Freedom

Sílvia Bastos
5 min readApr 21, 2018

My partner and I have started an exciting experiment.

We decided to establish principles for our relationship: Support, Intimacy, Self Growth, Creativity, and Having an Amazing Life Everyday.

This means that we have created an intention. These principles or goals are not to be “achieved”, but rather “pursued”; the real goal is to keep them in our awareness, while striving to get closer to them everyday. I like to think about them as a direction, rather than a place in time.

We have an OPEN relationship, not an OPEN RELATIONSHIP

What comes to your mind when you hear the expression “open relationship”?

Having lots of sex with multiple people other than your partner, STDs, detachment, jealousy? I know that’s what it triggers for me. And yes, I know that these things can be a reality for many relationships, but I also know that they are not how I want to define mine.

When we deconstruct this expression, it makes sense. I like the word “open” and I like the word “relationship”. However, I don’t like what they evoke when put together.

So let’s focus on the particular. What my partner and I are doing is really applying openness to our…

--

--